Using sensors, block chain for better animal welfare in transit

By Lilian Schaer

Guelph – A new sensor-based tracking system for livestock could provide peace of mind for farmers, food companies and consumers that animals are being treated humanely during transport.

Transport Genie monitors microclimate conditions inside livestock trailers and provides that information to users along the supply chain using block chain technology.

Block chains are a digital ledger of all transactions in a supply chain – information is passed along digitally as an attachment to the chain instead of through a paper trail and the permanent links between the blocks eliminate the possibility of data tampering.

“The devices currently monitor conditions like humidity and temperature inside a trailer, but could in future also track things like CO2 levels, acceleration and breaking to ensure livestock arrive at their destination safely, alive and healthy,” explains Kristen Celotto, part of the Transport Genie development team. “And if animals are injured or die in-transit, the sensors can indicate what went wrong and when.” Continue reading

Research institute helps make Ontario wines world class

By Tiffany Mayer

St. Catherines, Ontario – The glass is half full when it comes to grape and wine research in Ontario. And it’s only getting fuller thanks to the efforts of Brock University’s Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture Institute (CCOVI).

The research institute, established in 1996 in partnership with the Grape Growers of Ontario, the Wine Council of Ontario, and the Winery and Grower Alliance of Ontario, has tackled significant vineyard and winemaking issues, elevating local tipple to world-class status in the process.

It’s done so by taking on the multi-coloured Asian lady beetle, which can taint an entire vintage, and kept many bottles of wine tasting their finest in the process. It has 20 years of research dedicated to icewine production and authentication to ensure integrity for Canadian versions of the sweet nectar.

The effects of climate change on grape growing, sparkling wine production, and resveratrol and the Ontario wine industry also get serious research attention at CCOVI to the benefit of Ontario vintners and grape growers. Continue reading

Mobile business solution makes traceability easier, more affordable for farmers

By Lilian Schaer

Elora, Ontario – New data capture technology is making traceability and food safety risk management easier for Canadian beef, dairy, bison, goat and sheep farmers.

Go360 bioTrack, an initiative of AgSights, offers expanded data collection and management capabilities. It helps farmers track everything from livestock inventory numbers and animal movements to pedigree, reproduction, health, and body condition scoring information.

“We are using technology to take away headaches for people by making traceability and record-keeping simple,” explains AgSights General Manager Mike McMorris. “The latest version offers a lower cost entry point and some big improvements in terms of functionality.”

The base version that simply helps farmers keep track of their cattle inventory numbers is free. A small monthly subscription fee allows for tracking of animal movements from farm to farm or from farm to market, an increasingly mandatory requirement for Canadian livestock farmers. Continue reading

Consumer preference work contributes to Ontario apple cider strategy

What’s in a cider?

By Lisa McLean

Vineland – Ontario consumers are thirsty for more hard apple cider, and the province’s apple sector is poised to deliver. But first, researchers are profiling consumer preference to be sure the industry serves up cider that hits the spot.

The project developed in response to research needs identified in the 2016 Cider Research and Innovation Strategy is a partnership with the Ontario Craft Cider Association and the Ontario Apple Growers. The strategy aims to see seven million litres of Ontario craft cider come to market by 2020.

“Our work is about developing a better understanding of who the cider consumer is, and the sensory, flavour and taste profiles they’re looking for in a cider,” says Amy Bowen, Research Director, Consumer Insights at Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland).

Bowen used Vineland’s trained sensory panel to develop a lexicon of 22 sensory attributes to describe taste, aroma, flavour, mouthfeel and colour of hard apple ciders. The same panel then applied those attributes to 50 cider brands currently available to consumers through the LCBO and Ontario cideries. Continue reading

Harnessing physics for better seed germination, higher crop yields

By Matt McIntosh

Waterloo – Physics, the science of the cosmos, is critical to our understanding of the natural world – and on a more practical agricultural level, it might be able to help improve crop yields.

According to entrepreneurs and former University of Waterloo students Amir Zhumagulov and Ilyas Ashirov, physics – or a force within the science called electromagnetism – can be used to stimulate grain seeds into earlier and more productive growth.

If done at the right time, Zhumagulov says electromagnetically stimulating grains like wheat, corn, and rice can hasten germination time and facilitate early root development. In turn, this gives farmers a more uniform and early crop, which can translate to higher, more consistent yields.

“Every seed comes with its own nutrients so it can start growing,” says Zhumagulov. “Before planting, low-frequency electromagnetism can be used to stimulate how fast enzymes in the seed begin breaking down the starch and proteins contained within it, giving the seed a more vigorous start. Faster root development also comes from increases in protein synthesis within the seed.” Continue reading

Les capteurs et la chaîne de blocs améliorent le bien-être des animaux durant le transport

Par Lilian Schaer

Guelph – Un nouveau système de contrôle des animaux d’élevage par capteurs pourrait rassurer les éleveurs, les entreprises alimentaires et les consommateurs quant au fait que les animaux sont traités sans cruauté durant le transport.

Un dispositif baptisé Transport Genie surveille les conditions microclimatiques à l’intérieur des remorques à bétail et transmet cette information à tous les utilisateurs de la chaîne d’approvisionnement grâce à la technologie des chaînes de blocs.

La chaîne de blocs est un grand livre comptable virtuel où sont enregistrées toutes les transactions effectuées dans une chaîne d’approvisionnement; l’information est transmise à la chaîne par voie numérique sous forme de blocs liés les uns aux autres qui tiennent lieu de trace écrite, et les permaliens qui relient les blocs éliminent le risque de falsification des données.

« À l’heure actuelle, les dispositifs surveillent des conditions comme l’humidité et la température à l’intérieur d’une bétaillère, mais dans l’avenir, ils pourraient aussi surveiller des conditions comme les taux de CO2, les accélérations et le freinage pour fournir l’assurance que les animaux arrivent à destination sains, saufs et en bonne santé », explique Kristen Celotto, membre de l’équipe de développement de Transport Genie. « Et si des animaux subissent des blessures ou meurent durant le transport, les capteurs peuvent indiquer les circonstances et le moment de l’incident. » Continuer la lecture

La recherche contribue à donner aux vins de l’Ontario une reconnaissance mondiale

Par Tiffany Mayer

St. Catherines (Ontario) – Le verre est à moitié plein quand il s’agit de recherche en matière de raisin et de vin en Ontario. Mais il se remplit de plus en plus grâce aux recherches menées par l’Institut Cool Climate Oenology and Viticulture (CCOVI) de l’Université Brock.

Créé en 1996 en partenariat avec les Grape Growers of Ontario, le Wine Council of Ontario et la Winery and Grower Alliance of Ontario, l’institut de recherche s’est penché sur plusieurs enjeux importants liés à la viticulture et à la production du vin, rehaussant du même coup la renommée de la boisson locale vers un niveau international.

Cela a permis ainsi de s’attaquer aux effets néfastes de la coccinelle asiatique qui, présente dans les grappes, sécrète une substance pouvant altérer la vendange et modifier les riches arômes du vin lors de son processus de fermentation. Il a fallu consacrer vingt années de recherche à la production de vin de glace et à son appellation réservée pour en assurer l’authenticité des versions canadiennes du nectar sucré.

Les effets du changement climatique sur le raisin étant de plus en plus présents, la production de vin mousseux, le resvératrol et l’industrie vinicole ontarienne retiennent l’attention des chercheurs du CCOVI dans l’intérêt des viticulteurs et des producteurs de vin de l’Ontario. Continuer la lecture

Une solution commerciale mobile offre un moyen simple et plus abordable d’assurer la traçabilité du bétail

Par Lilian Schaer

Elora (Ontario) – Une nouvelle technologie de saisie de données facilite la traçabilité des aliments et la gestion des risques liés à la salubrité alimentaire pour les éleveurs canadiens de bovins, de bovins laitiers, de bisons, de chèvres et de moutons.

Go360 bioTrack, une initiative d’AgSights, offre des capacités accrues de collecte et de gestion de données. L’outil aide notamment les éleveurs à faire le suivi du stock de bétail, des déplacements des animaux, ainsi que de données sur le pedigree, la reproduction, la santé et l’évaluation de l’état de chair, entre autres.

« Nous tirons parti de la technologie pour simplifier la vie des gens et faciliter la traçabilité et la tenue des dossiers », explique Mike McMorris, directeur général d’AgSights. « Notre dernière version offre une option d’entrée à moindre coût et plusieurs fonctions grandement améliorées. »

La version de base qui aide simplement les éleveurs à faire le suivi de l’effectif de leur cheptel bovin est gratuite. Moyennant un abonnement mensuel à prix modique, les utilisateurs peuvent suivre les déplacements des animaux d’une ferme à l’autre ou de la ferme au marché, une exigence qui est de plus en plus souvent imposée aux éleveurs de bétail canadiens. Continuer la lecture

Un projet sur les préférences des consommateurs contribue à la stratégie sur le cidre de pomme de l’Ontario

Qu’est-ce qui fait la qualité d’un cidre?

Par Lisa McLean

Vineland – Les consommateurs ontariens sont avides de cidre de pomme brut, et le secteur de la pomme de la province s’apprête à assouvir leur soif. Pour y arriver, des chercheurs dressent d’abord le profil des préférences des consommateurs pour s’assurer que l’industrie offre du cidre qui saura ravir les papilles.

Mis au point pour répondre à des besoins de recherche définis dans la Stratégie d’innovation et de recherche sur le cidre (Cider Research and Innovation Strategy) de 2016, le projet se veut un partenariat entre l’Ontario Craft Cider Association et l’Ontario Apple Growers. La stratégie vise à mettre sur le marché sept millions de litres de cidre artisanal de l’Ontario d’ici 2020.

« Notre travail consiste à mieux comprendre qui est le consommateur de cidre et quels sont les profils sensoriel, aromatique et gustatif recherchés dans un cidre », explique Amy Bowen, directrice de la recherche, Tendances de consommation, au Vineland Research and Innovation Centre (Vineland).

Mme Bowen a collaboré avec le panel sensoriel du Vineland en vue d’élaborer un lexique de 22 caractéristiques sensorielles décrivant le goût, l’arôme, la saveur, la sensation en bouche et la couleur de cidres de pomme bruts. Le même panel a ensuite appliqué ces caractéristiques à 50 marques de cidre actuellement vendues à la LCBO et dans des cidreries de l’Ontario. Continuer la lecture

Exploiter la physique pour optimiser la germination et le rendement des récoltes

Par Matt McIntosh

Waterloo – La physique, la science du cosmos, est essentielle à notre compréhension du monde naturel et, sous un angle plus concret, pourrait contribuer à améliorer les rendements agricoles.

Selon les entrepreneurs et anciens étudiants de l’Université de Waterloo, Amir Zhumagulov et Ilyas Ashirov, la physique – ou une force que la science appelle électromagnétisme – peut être utilisée pour favoriser la germination précoce des semences des céréales et accroître leur productivité.

Selon M. Zhumagulov, si elle est utilisée au moment propice, la stimulation électromagnétique de semences de céréales comme le blé, le maïs et le riz peut accélérer le temps de germination et favoriser un développement plus rapide du système racinaire. Pour les agriculteurs, il en résulte des cultures plus uniformes et hâtives, ce qui peut se traduire par des rendements plus élevés et constants.

« Chaque graine contient ses propres éléments nutritifs qui lui permettent de commencer à pousser », explique M. Zhumagulov. « Avant la mise en terre, l’électromagnétisme basse fréquence peut être utilisé pour stimuler la vitesse à laquelle les enzymes de la graine commencent à décomposer l’amidon et les protéines qu’elle contient, ce qui donne à la graine un départ plus vigoureux. Le développement plus rapide du système racinaire s’explique également par l’accélération de la synthèse des protéines dans la graine. » Continuer la lecture